Nursing Assistant and Medication Aide FAQs

Nursing Assistant (NA)

I am looking for training as a NA, where do I look?

  • Visit www.nebraskanurseaide.org for upcoming training. New classes are added all the time so check often.
  • Check with nursing homes in the area to see if they are offering classes.
  • Check with community colleges in the area to see if they are offering classes.

Do you offer scholarships?

  • The Nebraska Health Care Foundation (NHCF) offers a Basic Nursing Assistant Scholarship. Click here for information and the application.

What is the cost for testing?

  • The written exam is $20.
  • The clinical skills exam is $32.

I have completed my training and now need to test, how do I do that?

  • If you have taken a class through a community college, you must test through that college.
  • If you have taken a class through a local nursing home you may register for testing at www.nebraskanurseaide.org and click on Testing. There is a self-registration process. The instructor who has provided the training must submit a class form with information about the students. This is required to establish eligibility for the testing. The form is located on the same Web site. You will need to register for both the written and clinical skills exams.

How do I sign up for a Nursing Assistant Test?

  1. Visit www.nebraskanurseaide.org and click on Testing.
  2. Select the test date and location at which you would like to test.
  3. Registration for test dates closes seven (7) business days prior to the test date. Register for testing before the deadline.
  4. Under self registration click the "here" link. This will take you to the online registration, which is quickest.
  5. Select the tests for which you need to register.
  6. You will need to pay by credit or debit card using this method. If you select Invoice, the registration will be held until payment is sent.
  7. Once you select "Continue", the next screen takes you to required information. This information is secure and required by the Nurse Aide Registry. Confirmations are sent by e-mail so a valid e-mail address is required.
  8. Be sure to select the correct testing date and location from the drop down list.
  9. The next screen asks if you have ever taken the NA test before. This information is part of the verification process used to establish eligibility for testing. (Also check any previous names.)
  10. Complete payment information and select "Submit".
  11. You will be notified by e-mail with confirmation and a receipt for the exams.
  12. You may also download and print a registration form under self-registration if you prefer to mail or fax a registration.

After I have taken the NA test what happens?

  1. All written and clinical skills exams are sent to the Nebraska Health Care Learning Center office for grading.
  2. The grades are sent to the Nurse Aide registry for review.
  3. Grades are not sent to the students unless you have had an unsuccessful attempt. If that occurs in the written test a letter will be sent to the student. The student is notified immediately if the clinical skills test has been unsuccessful, therefore a letter is not sent.

What happens if I fail a NA test?

You have two times to retake an exam, three times total each exam. Each test result is submitted to the Nurse Aide Registry so that numbers are tracked. If you are unsuccessful after the third attempt you must retake the course.

I have not worked as a NA in awhile and my registry status has lapsed, how do I reactivate?

  • An individual who has performed nurse aide duties for monetary compensation that was not reported to the Nurse Aide Registry may submit an Employment Verification Form. This form is a statement from the employer that verifies the name and address of the employer, dates of employment, and that nurse aide duties were performed. This form may be used to update employment as long as there is not a two-year gap in employment since the last test date or last date of employment shown on the Nurse Aide Registry. Since employment is not shown on the Web site, you may need to contact the Nurse Aide Registry at 402-471-0537 to determine the last date of employment shown.
  • An individual who has performed nurse aide duties for a State-licensed facility or agency in Nebraska does not need to have the notary section of the Employment Verification Form completed. If you worked for anyone else (private duty, or a non-licensed facility or agency) the notary section does have to be completed.
  • An individual who has not worked as a nurse aide for two years and who has taken an approved 75-hour nurse aide course may reactivate his/her registration by retaking the written and clinical exams. (This individual is not eligible to work in a Medicare/Medicaid certified nursing facility until they have successfully completed these exams and the results have been posted to the Nurse Aide Registry or the facility has been provided with copies of the exam results.)
  • Please visit www.nebraskanurseaide.org and follow the license renewal instructions under Testing.

I am moving to Nebraska, how do I get on the Nurse Aide Registry?

You must complete an application for interstate endorsement to start the process. If you have not worked as a NA or tested in the last two years, you must get approval from the Nebraska Nurse Aide registry to retest. The Nebraska Nurse Aide Registry typically sends you a letter that indicates you are eligible to retest. A copy of this letter should be sent to us as verification. The mailing address is:

Nebraska Health Care Learning Center
Attn: NA Testing
1200 Libra Drive, Suite 100
Lincoln NE 68512

I have taken the test. How will I know if I passed?

  1. All test results are sent to the Nebraska Nurse Aide Registry and the results are posted on the state Web site.
  2. To access your information go to www.nebraskanurseaide.org and click on Regulations. Go to Nebraska Nurse Aide Registry to look up your registry status. We recommend you start checking approximately two weeks after testing.
  3. Click on the License Search tab on the right.
  4. Click on individual.
  5. Type first and last names and click search individual.
  6. Your information should appear once it has been issued. Move the cursor over your name and click on it to bring up license details.
  7. Look under License status for the word Active. This means you are ready to work as a NA.
  8. For examination information look toward the bottom of the screen under Examination Information.
  9. If you have not passed a test, you will be notified by letter by Nebraska Health Care Learning Center.

I have taken the test. When can I go to work?

If you have not lapsed or come from another state, you may work for 120 calendar days performing NA duties while waiting for the registry to be updated.

How long does it take to get on the Nurse Aide Registry?

It typically takes approximately 30 days from date of test exam to become active on the Nurse Aide Registry but can take longer.

Why can it take awhile?

  • It could be that a test was not passed.
  • The background check could be taking longer. This is common if you have moved or had a name change.
  • Payment may not have been received by the testing site.
  • Course information may not be complete.

After 30 days contact the testing site to make sure the information has been successfully sent to the state. Or, contact the Nebraska Nurse Aide Registry:

Nancy Stava
402-471-0537
402-471-1066 Fax
e-mail: nancy.stava@nebraska.gov

I am 15 years old and would like to take nurse aide training (I will turn 16 in a couple of months). What are my limitations related to testing, training and working as a nurse aide?

You can take the training as long as you do not have direct resident contact. You can test. Your name will not be put on the registry until you are 16. The 120 days cannot start until you are 16.

A nurse aide from another state has been working at our Nebraska SNF/NF for a couple of months. We forgot to check the other state's registry, and we have noted it now. The nurse aide just completed the Nebraska requirements. Do we need to report this to the registry? Or is there anything else we need to do other than check the other state's registry?

You need a record in your files that you (the facility) checked the other state’s registry. The State doesn't need it reported to them. The aide should not have been working in Nebraska until she was on the State's registry.


Medication Aide

I am looking for training as a Medication Aide. Where do I look?

  • Visit www.medicationaide.org for upcoming training. New classes are added all the time so check often.
  • Check with the nursing homes in the area to see if they are offering classes.
  • Community colleges also frequently offer classes.

Do you offer scholarships?

  • The Nebraska Health Care Foundation (NHCF) offers a Medication Aide Scholarship. Click here for information and the application.

What is the cost for testing?

The written exam is $20.

I have a lapsed status on the Medication Aide Registry. How do I become active again? 

A nurse must verify your competency within the regulatory competency requirements. The easiest is to have a nurse in the employment setting verify competency status. Taking the Medication Aide exam does NOT meet the lapsed status competency requirements.

How do I sign up for a Medication Aide (MA) Test?

  1. Visit www.medicationaide.org and click on testing.
  2. Select the test date and location at which you would like to test.
  3. Registration for test dates closes 7 business days prior to the test date. Register for the testing before the deadline.
  4. Under self-registration click the here button. This will take you to the online registration, which is fastest.
  5. Select the tests for which you need to register.
  6. You will need to pay by credit or debit card using this method. If you select Invoice the registration will be held until payment is sent.
  7. Once you select Continue, the next screen takes you to required information. This information is secure and required by the Medication Aide Registry. Payment confirmations are sent by e-mail so a valid e-mail address is required.
  8. Be sure to select the correct testing date and location from the drop down list.
  9. Complete payment information and select submit.
  10. You will be notified by e-mail of confirmation and a receipt for the exams.
  11. Once the registration for testing is closed a roster will be put on the Web site for testing participants and location information.
  12. You may also download and print a registration form under self-registration if you prefer to mail or fax a registration. This method is the slowest.

After I have taken the MA tests, what happens?

  1. All exams are sent to the Nebraska Health Care Learning Center office for grading.
  2. The grades are sent to the Medication Aide Registry for their review.

What happens if I fail a MA test?

You may re-enroll to take a different exam.

After I take the exam what do I do next?

  1. The Medication Aide Registry must receive an Application for Registration as Medication Aide- 40 hour and Documentation of Course Completion. These forms should be provided by the instructor for the course. Regulations
  2. A registration fee of $18 must be included with the application to the Medication Aide Registry.
  3. Address:

    Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services - Licensure Unit
    Office of Nursing and Nursing Support
    PO Box 94986
    Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

    After 30 days contact the testing site to make sure the information has been successfully sent to the state. Or contact the Nebraska Medication Aide Registry:

    Teresa Luse
    (402) 471-4376
    (402) 471-1066 Fax
    e-mail: teresa.luse@nebraska.gov